Monday, August 08, 2016


In the 18th Century, the Malay Kingdoms became subject to the British Empire. Like South Africa, before the Brits arrived, Malaysia was a Dutch Colony. During the time of the Dutch, the Kingdoms mostly carried on existing with the colonial focus being on the trading areas. In South Africa's case, it was Cape Town. In Malaysia's case, it was Jakarta (Indonesia). Instead of enslaving locals, the 'peace was kept' by using prisoners and exiles from far away. Like Australians, but not free. South Africa has a 'Cape Malay' community started by political dissidents and exiles who were sent away for opposing the Dutch presence in the east.

No comments: