Tuesday, October 11, 2016

French Guiana

Guiana is a part of, and apart from France

French Guiana is still an overseas department of France. Like the West African coast of Guinea and various Asian ports (e.g. Goa, Macau, Hong Kong, Shanghai) the rising national powers of Europe carved up coast lines and islands all over the world. Since independence never came, and although it is on the South American continent, it is part of the European Union. Half of the population of 250,000 live in the capital, Cayenne, leaving the rest of the country very sparsely populated. In the first attempt of France to colonise the area in 1763, tropical disease and the climate killed 10,000 of the 12,000 initial European settlers. 

Cayenne within French Guiana

No comments: